Blakely’s Nursery Redo

We have been blessed with another pregnancy and after three boys, we found out we were having our first girl.  We have had rooms full of outer space, pirates, sports, and woodlands and owls.  After finding out I was having a girl I was so excited to be able to decorate a room that was elegant and dainty!  I immediately got on Pinterest and went crazy with ideas. You can see Blakely Faith’s Pinterest board here: Blakely’s Pinterest Board

Welcome to Blakely’s bird theme nursery! Come on in and let’s take a look…

Blakely's bird nursery- modern day proverbs wife

I called my mom all excited about the different ideas I had and the next thing I knew she had started the process of redoing furniture for the nursery which I was really excited about.  We had discussed using an old dresser with a big mirror as the changing table. She found the perfect one at an antique store.  She already had an old side table and book shelf that was perfect.  Here are the before pictures of the side table and dresser.

image

Blakely’s nursery side table

image

Blakely’s nursery changing table/dresser

I originally wanted to paint the nursery a light gray but our landlords crushed that dream and said no. My crafty Mother-in-law came up with the idea to use fabric as an accent wall.  She had previously done that in a house and knew exactly what to do.  It’s basically like wallpaper but applied with liquid starch so when we need to take it down it just peels right off and the walls wipe clean. Although we did it differently, you can find detailed instructions here: Fabric wall instructions

image

We first measured the wall and she did all the math to figure out how much material we would need. We went shopping and lucked out and found the perfect color at Walmart or a little less than $3 a yard!

image

She “painted” on the liquid starch with a roller.

image

She started at the top and stuck the middle panel on first.

image

She figured out that if she rolled over the fabric with more starch after applying it to the wall she could roll the air bubbles out quicker and better.

image

Middle panel complete and just needs to dry.

image

Admiring her handiwork.

image

All complete and ready to dry!

image

The completed wall.

image

All finished and dry and I couldn’t be happier!

I had picked out some paper flowers on Pinterest that I thought would be a good idea to do above Blakely’s crib. I showed them to my mom and I was going to attempt to make them but before I knew it she had gotten online and started the process! I did not complain. LOL Making  them takes a lot of time and patience and I have neither!  😂  She learned to make every single one of them and made them for the wall.  ( which is why I was upset I couldn’t paint!)  They look awesome on the fabric wall!  You can find them on Blakely’s Pinterest board above or here’s just one of the websites: Paper flower tutorial

She did a lot of tweaking and changing while making them.

image

I laid them out on the floor first to see how I wanted them to go on the wall and then they applied them with wire and nails.

image

The finished product above her crib. I am in love with the simple elegance of these paper flowers!

The next thing I showed her on Pinterest was a DIY mobile with birds. She also took the time to make that! Here’s the tutorial for it: Paper bird mobile

image

She tweaked this one to be a little different as well because I wanted the Cherryblossom’s on it.

image

We hung it from the ceiling with fishing line so you can’t see it. It dangles quite nicely above her crib. Here you can see the flowers above her crib (which Easton helped me build) as well.

I’ve always had a thing for chandeliers and really wanted one in Blakely’s room.  I had one in my old house that my mom had kept for me. It was all black with clear crystals.  She re-furbished it painting it white, pink, and aqua. She added pink pearls and pink crystals to give it the right touch!  It is absolutely one of my favorite things  in the room!

image

image

The side table she re-did for me was sanded down and painted white. She reinforced the drawer and then added a beautiful crystal knob!

image

Before/After

image

I’m in love with all of the small details from the crystal lamp, the picture and frame, and to the basket for her toys underneath.

I was just going to use the rocking chair as it was but the mauve and dark wood didn’t match at all.  My mom finally talked me into letting her paint it white and attempt to paint the fabric  gray.  I had it pictured in my head like it was going to be scratchy, stiff, and sticky.  But she convinced me to let her try it and if I didn’t like it she said she would reupholster it.  After it was complete I loved it!  It has an almost vinyl or leather feel to it which will be easy to just wipe right off if something gets on it.  You can find the instructions on how to paint upholstery here: How to paint fabric

image

I scored the ruffley pink pillow on clearance at Joannes for $5!  The rocking chair was given to us after my husband’s great grandmother passed away. It belonged to his great great great  grandmother and had many babies rocked in it over the years!  It gives me great joy to be able to rock Little Miss Blakely Faith in it!

Mom also took the time to make a wooden wall sign with Blakely’s signature Bible verse on it. We hung it with another one of her wondrous paper flowers.

Blakely's bird nursery- modern day proverbs wife

My mom and I went to the store and picked out fabric and she made Blakely’s bed skirt and curtains.  I absolutely adore how elegant and feminine they are!  She did such a good job on them and even lined the curtains with a white bedsheet to make it darker for nap time!  She had an old wooden curtain rod in her shed that she painted white and added pearls to the knobs on the end.  She used a jigsaw to cut out some wooden birds to hold the curtain tiebacks. I am in love with all of the small details of Blakely’s nursery!

image

My mom and dad putting up the curtain rod and hanging the curtains.

image

Just beautiful!  Especially with the fluffy white rug!

Blakely's bird nursery- modern day proverbs wife

Blakely's bird nursery- modern day proverbs wife

Blakely's bird nursery- modern day proverbs wife

The crystal and pearls match the chandelier, curtain rod, and wooden sign.

 

Blakely's bird nursery- modern day proverbs wife

She put pearls on the end of the curtain rod.

image

For now because the bed is so high the bedskirt doesn’t hang below the crib. But as Blakely gets older and I get to move the mattress down the bedskirt will show more.

Blakely’s changing table/dresser was bought at an antique store.  My mom sanded it, reinforced all the drawers and put it back together, and then painted it white.  She bought a new mirror for it, put on crystal knobs, and added a few pink and aqua touches to it to match the room.  She even left me a surprise on the sides of the drawers when I pull them out! 👏🏼😍 Because the drawers have a key hole, she came up with the idea to hang a key from one of the knobs just to be all fancy.  I  Love skeleton keys and just happened to have one from the house I grew up in when I was a child that actually locked/unlocked one of the bathroom doors.  We hung it from a ribbon on the changing table.

image

Before/After (minus the mirror)

image

Easton the big helper helping Nana and Papa put it back together.

Blakely's bird nursery- modern day proverbs wife

image

My surprise on the sides of all the drawers!  I love it!

We got a birdcage to decorate with and I really couldn’t figure out where to put it. I decided to put all of her multitudes of headbands in it!  Still not sure where I’m going to put it but for now it sits next to her changing table.

image

Just a few of her headbands!

image

The aqua bird hangers are one of the very first things we bought to go in her room.  I decided to use those to hang her bath towel and robe.

I had bought a metal basket to put on the end of the changing table with lotion, diapers, Desitin, etc. but once I put the pad on it, there wasn’t enough room for the basket. 😔 So I decided to use it as a bathroom caddy for all of her bath supplies. image

I am completely in love with Blakely’s room! Before she was born I would sit in there for hours looking around. I hope you love it as much as I do! We welcomed Blakely Faith on May 31, 2016 and she too loves her room! 😉🎀

 

 

 

4 responses to “Blakely’s Nursery Redo

  1. Congratulations!! Ooh, I love the stencils on the inside sides of the chest of drawers! Such a fun touch. ^_^

  2. There is a lot of talented mom&mom-in-law involved and adorable details everywhere. Do you have a “before” picture of the rocker? I’m impressed of every little detail❣Too many to even mention❣

    • Thank you! Tha small details are my favorite part of the room. I spent so many hours on Pinterest planning and dreaming!
      I can’t believe I forgot to take a before picture of the rocker! I was so upset! I may still be able to find a picture one day since its been in the family for so long.

Leave a comment