Fight the War From Your Knees

MDPW- War RoomI realize a lot of you started following my blog for recipes. But the original reason I started a blog was to document my spiritual walk with Christ. If I denied the impact the movie “War Room” has had on my spiritual walk I would be doing the my friends, family, and blog followers no good. The power of prayer is a serious weapon to be utilized in our every day lives against the enemy who prowls looking to attack our weaknesses. The following post is a mixture of paraphrases from the corresponding War Room book titled, “Fervent” by Priscilla Shirer and my thoughts on the idea of fighting a battle from our knees.

Miss Clara: So if I asked you what your prayer life is like, would you say it’s hot or cold?

Elizabeth: (chuckle) I don’t know that I would say that it’s hot. I mean, we’re like most people. We have full schedules. We work. But I would consider myself a spiritual person. I’m not hot, but I’m not cold either. Just, you know, somewhere in the middle.

Miss Clara: Here ya go. I’ve got creamer and sugar if you like it.

Elizabeth: Oh no thank you. I like it black. (takes sip of coffee and turns up her nose) Miss Clara? You like your coffee room temperature?

Miss Clara: No, baby, mine’s hot…

You can see the full clip here to get a better sense of the setting. Like Elizabeth, I too, have lived my prayer life a little luke warm. God detests luke warm!

I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth.  Revelation 3:15-16

I DO NOT want God to spew me from His mouth! It’s time to put our spiritual and prayer lives in the microwave and HEAT THEM UP! Metaphorically speaking…

A very real enemy has been strategizing and scheming  against you, assaulting you, coming after your emotions, your mind, your man/woman, your child, your future. In fact, he’s doing it right this second. Right where your sitting. Right where you are. ~Priscilla Shirer

Do we just allow him free reign in our lives? Not if we want our husbands/wives and children living out what God has called them to do and be and become. Not if we want a fence of God’s protection around us. Not if we want to bear the unmistakable mark of His favor upon us. And most definitely not if we want the devil and his plans to go back to the hell they came from!

But none of that is going to happen– no matter how badly we may want it– as long as prayer remains an afterthought, a formality, a mindless mix of duty and manipulation, something we do but usually don’t do, and rarely if ever do with any meaning and vitality, with confidence and clarity. ~Priscilla Shirer

When we pray about the places where we seriously suspect the enemy is at work, that’s how we keep our prayers focused, not only on particular situations but on biblical truths that are consistent with maintaining victory in the midst of them. If all we’re doing is flinging words and emotions in all directions without any real consideration for the specific way the enemy is TARGETING us and the promises of God that apply to us, we’re mostly just wasting our time. Prayer is our not so secret weapon in the fight with Satan and all our enemies for that matter. I’d even venture to say, our most potent one.

I’m willing to admit, right up front, there’s an undeniable, unknowable, invisible mystery to prayer. That’s why our first reaction to it often leans toward dismissing it, downplaying it, devaluing its critical importance.

He’s created prayer as a primary way of putting us into personal contact with Him and with His eternal realities, any hour of the day or night. ~Priscilla Shirer

I teach my boys to talk to God as if He was sitting right in front of them, as if He is a family member or friend, which He is all of those things! Through the connective tissue of prayer, He cracks open the door that makes us at least a small part of how these massive plans of His are translated into the lives of people we know. Yes! We can help people! We can be a small part of what happens in their lives! Prayer is the portal that brings the power of heaven down to earth. It is kryptonite to the enemy and to all his ploys against you.

Strategic prayer touches on the areas of your life that the enemy is targeting the hardest– the bulk of what frustrates you, worries you, defeats you, exasperates you, angers you, taunts you, deflates you, and sometimes makes impossible demands on you. Random accident? Lucky guess? I don’t think so. These areas of greatest fear and anxiety in your life are clues to some important spiritual information. They reveal, among other things, that a personalized strategy has been insidiously put in placed to destroy your vibrancy and render you defeated. It’s been drawn up on the blackboard by someone who knows how to exploit your weaknesses. (picture Satan like a football coach going over plays with his team on a black board) Whatever those things are, compose a strategy of prayer in regard to your own life in that particular area. A strategy of war.  Post it where you can regularly see them and read them and launch them against the enemy’s most well-disguised hideouts. You’ll be able to fight back as hard (and harder) than the one who’s fighting against you.

Through prayer you’ll not only be able to defend yourself from incoming sniper fire but through Almighty God will be able to push into  enemy territory and take . . . stuff . . .back. ~Priscilla Shirer

Just wait until the devil encounters the fight of God’s Spirit in you.

THIS.

MEANS.

WAR.

MDPW War Room

Leave a Reply

