Stress…That’s it….Just stress.

mother-stress-picture

After a very trying night I was sitting here trying to figure out what my next blog would be. I sometimes do my Bible studies for the day as I blog. It seems my job as a mother/wife is never done and it can be a little overwhelming sometimes. Okay a lot overwhelming. I enjoy being a stay at home Mom very much, but sometimes I feel under appreciated and spread thin. I often go and hide in a room and pray but even the dog always finds me and tries peeping under the door along with the other little fingers sticking through the crack. I came across this picture when looking on Pinterest:

tumblr_lmga60zS1u1qhmhdfo1_500

I couldn’t help but feel like God had placed this in my lap and He had a message for me so I am going through each of these verses to hear what He has to say. 🙂

 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Jeremiah 29:11

I know that God is in control of my life and EVERYTHING happens for a reason. He has a plan no matter the circumstance. I have a future as long as I follow Christ!

Fools give full vent to their rage, but the wise bring calm in the end. Proverbs 29:11

Mmmm Hmmm. I hear ya Lord. I need to work on my patience. I sometimes give in to the pressure and explode. If I can take a few deep breaths and calm my nerves I can bring calm and peace to almost every situation. If need be I can always pray to get me through any tough situation and God will be sitting right beside me.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight. Proverbs 3:5-6

I trust my Lord with every ounce of my body. He will get me through every tough situation even if nobody else will. I sometimes do not understand what I am doing wrong if anything but as long as I am submitting to the things he is telling me to do (like look up all the verses on this picture 😉 ) He will clear my paths for me.

Be angry and do not sin; do not let the sun go down on the cause of your anger. Ephesians 4:26

Sooooo, what Your trying to say God, is that I can’t give people I am mad at the silent treatment for 3 days? Well, that is just hogwash! While it is very hard to swallow things you are angry about sometimes, I do see the importance of not dwelling on the petty. I have seen to many lives lost this year, some very close to my family, to worry about being mad at someone just to prove a point. Life is precious and I don’t want to spend it angry. Thanks for the reminder, Lord.

You must put away every kind of bitterness, anger, wrath, quarreling, and evil, slanderous talk. Instead, be kind to one another, compassionate, forgiving one another, just as God in Christ also forgave you. Ephesians 4:31-32

God forgives me for all the things I have done in my life time. That is A-MAZ-ING. I can’t thank him enough for that. I dont’ want to read my book when I get to the pearly gates. So if God can forgive me for all I have done, I am pretty sure I can forgive others just the same.

Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.  Matthew 6:19-21

I’m usually pretty good about not “wanting” to much. I am pretty content with the “stuff” I have in my life. I can’t take any of it with me to heaven and I am only here on earth temporarily. As long as my relationship with my Father is my priority my heart will be in the right place. Keeping up with the Jones’ is just silly. Stressing about not having the latest iPad or in my case an iPad in general will A. not get me one and B. not secure a place in heaven for myself. The only thing I need to work on is stressing during Christmas time and remembering that TIME means more to my children than stuff.

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, whohave been called according to his purpose.  Romans 8:28

Everything that happens to us is for the greater good. Everything from being late to work all the way to someone stumping their toe. While we may never know the reasoning behind these things that happen to us, God knows exactly what he is doing. I am going to use my son Trace as an example. He has really tried my patience lately. Since Easton was born he has become very angry and defiant. I am having a hard time keeping control of him and his anger. In the midst of trying to control him I have lost control of myself. I lose my temper and have no patience whatsoever. I’m not saying God gave me a defiant child on purpose but I am saying he uses Trace to teach me about myself so that I may grow to be the parent he wants me to be. So Trace being a little turkey is for the greater good. I can live with that. 🙂 Once I give him some special attention he is usually much better. He behaves and listens much better when I don’t yell and lose my temper with him. He needs a lot of nurturing since it was just he and I at home during the day  for so long.

because the Lord disciplines the one he loves, and he chastens everyone he accepts as his son. Hebrews 12:6

Just like I discipline my children when they have done wrong, God disciplines me the same way. I am His child and when He is not happy with me or things I have said or done He gives me an imaginary spanking.He can giveth but he can also taketh away.  Because I love my children, I teach them obedience in the same way God loves us and teaches us to obey. This also reminded me that I was not doing wrong by staying on Trace and keeping him on a straight path. He needs discipline. I just have to figure out what works best for him. All children are different and have to be punished according to what works with their personality. I remember being a child and when my sister and I would get out of line I got spankings and I would be good as gold for days afterwards. My sister on the other hand would be sent to her room because that is what worked for her. It also would have worked by making me stay inside all day and making her go outside all day. 😉 I loved being outdoors and she loved being indoors.

I just have to stick with it and figure out what works. In the meantime, when I get stressed and to the point of losing my cool I need to remember these verses and God is on my side. He placed this on my heart last night after having a rough time with Trace. After he went to bed I sat and cried because I just didn’t know what else to do to make him behave and my nerves were shot. Part of that being because I  am over tired from getting up with a baby, but the other part being at a loss. Let me stress that Trace is not by any means a “bad” child. Other people will tell you he is an angel. To me that is really what matters. He behaves away from home besides typical boy stuff and that makes me a happy camper. It is just in the home I have to work on. I would like all 3 of my boys to respect their parents growing up. That means starting early teaching them right from wrong and the art of obedience.

I have faith that Trace will pull through this rough patch and grow up to be the young christian man who God intends for him to be. With a little guidance and a whole lot of love we will make it through. I love you Trace!

DSC_1059-2

3 responses to “Stress…That’s it….Just stress.

  1. Proverbs 22:6 is a very comforting verse when raising children. Trace is one of those kids that will turn out to be an awsome man. We all love you Trace.

  2. Strong willed children turn out to be the ones God uses for miraculous things. God will be able to use Trace to do some pretty awesome things because of his no fear spirit. That’s a trait of missionaries, so who knows what God has planned for Aunt B’s little man, some pretty great things I think.

Leave a Reply

