Chicken Pie

When I had my third baby boy, Easton, a few ladies from church made dinners for my family and brought them over. This was one of my favorites and low and behold the boys liked it too! I immediately asked for the recipe and it was a big hit. The pictures don’t make it look to appetizing but it is WONDERFUL! And so easy….right up my alley!

Chicken Pie

1 pastry stick- or pie pastry               1/4 tsp. pepper

1/4 cup oleo or margarine                  2 cups chicken broth

1/4 cup flour                                          2/3 cup half-and-half can use plain milk

1/2 tsp. salt                                            2 cups of cooked chicken

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Prepare pastry as directed on package. Roll to fit 3-qt. rectangular or round Pyrex dish…

002

Melt Oleo in large boiler. I don’t have a boiler so I just used a regular pot.  Add flour and seasonings and let bubble. Add liquids and cook slowly until thickened. ( I had to add just a touch more flour to thicken it up a bit)…

001

I use rotisserie chicken for this recipe…

003

If using rotisserie chicken shred until you have 2 cups. If using other chicken shred or cut up into small pieces…

005

Add chicken to liquid once you have 2 cups…

006

Pour mixture in Pyrex dish…

008

I didn’t do all the rolling out and cutting yet so I just placed the pastry on top…

010

012

Cut around edges to leave a little bit on sides and cut slits in top…

015

No need to cover. Bake 25 minutes or until golden brown on top. Meanwhile, I make a bag of frozen vegetable to go along with it. Place them in a bowl with a dollop of butter and microwave for 5 to 7 minutes…

018

25 minutes later…

022

Salt the veggies and stir around butter…

024

Serve pie with veggies…

025

Add veggies on top. Bon appetit…

026

Leave a Reply

