The person that aims at nothing is sure to hit it

god20telephone1

If God calls you, He will equip you ~Priscilla Shirer

I’ve been working on a Bible study for a while now. It was supposed to be a 6 week study. I have now been working on it for close to 3 months. I was very adamant about doing the study week 1-4, then life kind of happened and I got behind. I absolutely LOVE this study and I read it whenever I can, which is usually when I am sitting in the pick up line at Gavin’s school.

The study I am working on is called “Discerning the Voice of God” by Priscilla Shirer. It is basically a lesson on how to recognize when God is talking to you, how to understand it, and what to do with it when you do hear it. This is one of the best studies I have read in a long time and it is so interesting. I have a problem with getting bored easy.

I have always used the quote “Everything happens for a reason” for everything in life. I truly believe it does. We may never know the reasons but everything has it’s purpose. For instance, my falling behind on this study. The reason has just been revealed to me. Let me explain:

While sitting in church a few Sundays ago I was noticing my youngest son has a wonderful children’s class to attend during services while my oldest has nothing. He is in 4th grade so he is a little to old for children’s church but still a little young for church services. He can’t quite understand what the sermons are about yet. Therefore, I feel as if my oldest son is taking away no knowledge from church. Given they do have Sunday school classes for his age but we DO NOT get up and moving that early. It’s a small miracle we make it to regular church on time and if you ask my husband we don’t even do that!

I was speaking to my Mother about the youth program at our church and had expressed I was interested in starting a class for the “tweeners”.

Tweeners-(n.) children to old for children’s church but to young for church services. They are in between.  <——-I so just made that up. 😉

I told her what great memories I had of the youth when I was growing up at the same church and I wanted those same memories for my 3 sons. I was worried that Gavin was getting nothing from church and he is in a stage that he really needs to be learning! I also expressed that I hadn’t talked to anyone about it because I was worried I wasn’t great at teaching. Once I left her house I pushed the thought to the back of my mind and went on with my life.

I found some time the other day while sitting in the car line at Gavin’s school again to do some of my Bible study. When I started reading it, it was about attending church and being part a of the body of Christ. The author told a story from her youth about showing an interest in helping teach the children at her local church when she was only 12. She did such a wonderful job, her Aunt made her a weekly part of teaching. She called it her place within the body of Christ. She had previously explained that to accomplish the plans of God, the individual members of the body must cooperate by actively participating in their area of gifting within the body.

The next part was what was so startling and magnificent to me. It was almost as if God picked up the telephone and dialed my number. She wrote:

God speaks through the church. When God allows you to see a need in your local church that tugs at your heart or continues to be a reoccurring thought, don’t be afraid to take this to God for further direction. If God is speaking to you through the church to accomplish His plans, you will notice a pattern in your Bible study, prayer, and circumstances that points you in the same direction.

Ummm hello God! I hear you! It was a reoccurring thought. It has been a pattern through my Bible study and circumstances. He knew exactly how to speak to me so I would hear him. There is clearly a need for some sort of youth class and God is calling me to be a part of it.

Here’s where it gets really good. The next paragraph read:

God’s plan will often require you to step away from the comfort zone of your natural abilities so you can experience His supernatural possibilities. You may see a need in the body and feel encouraged by the Holy Spirit to do something you do not feel equipped to do. If God calls you, He will equip you. Give him the opportunity to display His supernatural activity as He uses you for His glory.

Ummmm, Hello there again God. I am hearing you crystal clear now! I was so worried about not being a good teacher that He wanted to reassure me He wanted me to step out of my comfort zone and He would equip me with everything necessary to do so.

Everyone that was taking this study with me has been done for quite some time now. I couldn’t help but get frustrated that I had fallen so far behind and could never find the time to sit and work on it. But once I realized the timing of the study, I knew that His timing was perfect. I was supposed to be reading that days study at that exact moment. God had a message for me and a plan. “Okay Lord. I hear you loud and clear.”

God-Wants-to-Talk-to-You

3 responses to “The person that aims at nothing is sure to hit it

  1. It never fails to amaze me how often we fail to hear God based on our idea of what we are capable of instead of basing what we can accomplish on God’s promise that “we can do all things through Him.” Let Him lead you and the amazement will never end and when you look back you will be astonished at what He was able to accomplish through you for His glory.

  2. Praise God!! He is so faithful! I can’t wait to see what He does through all this!!

Leave a Reply

