A clear blue sky with no clouds is like a garden with no flowers

It’s the small things. It’s the things they will remember forever. When I was young there are certain things I will always remember. The way my Mom and ONLY my Mom rolled up my blanket and laid it beside me at night, my Dad pushing me on the tree swing so high I felt like I was flying, Nanny giving me boxes of “treasure” (junk) to look through and me hinting that I wanted certain items from the box, riding with Pappy in his little silver truck to the red barn gas station so that he would buy me cinnamon mentos. I could go on and on.

A while back we were headed over the bridge after picking Gavin up from school. I noticed how beautiful the clouds were. So white and puffy in a clear blue sky. I reminded the boys that God made clouds and I answered a few questions about the reasoning for God making them. There was a few more times after that I pointed out how pretty the sky was and the boys would ooooohhhhh and aaaahhhhh for a bit. And there was even a few times Gavin pointed them out to me.

Then one day, again on the way home from picking Gavin up from school, I noticed a cloud shaped like an elephant. I pointed it out and the boys got a pretty good kick out of it.

Trace chimed in and said “Mom, that one looks like a dog! And that one looks like a hippo, and that one looks like a pony!” Gavin then started looking for them and pointed out a few. His were usually more elaborate. A pig with wings and a curly tail, me with a baby crawling under my feet and a pan in my hand. We all know that one is a joke. I don’t cook. There was a few different times I would spot a cloud shaped like something random while driving and point it out to the boys. And they would both join in finding different shapes.

It wasn’t until a few days ago I realized I had started a “tradition” of my own with Gavin and Trace. All was quiet in the car on the way back from picking Gavin up from school. All of a sudden the silence breaks with Trace yelling “Mom! That cloud looks like a lion!” Gavin and I both found it and said “Oh, yea! It sure does!” Gavin then found a few and so did I. It made me smile when I realized I had started something with the boys they will hopefully remember forever. Now everyday  when I pick up the kids from school Gavin, Trace, Easton, and I will search the clouds for shapes.

It’s the small things…

6 responses to “A clear blue sky with no clouds is like a garden with no flowers

  1. Pingback: 神様のイタズラ!まるで○○のような形をした雲-ナースモ·

  2. Pingback: 神様のイタズラ!まるで○○のような形をした雲·

Leave a Reply

