There is no cure for laziness but having a big family helps…

Rejoice with your family in the beautiful land of life!  ~Albert Einstein

Growing up my Mother kept children at the house. She had a daycare and after that she kept a baby or two. All because she wanted to be home with her  children. I remember referring to her employment as “not a real job”. I pictured a stay at home Mom sitting around watching soap operas and eating chocolate bon bons.  Humph! I am eating those words and they do not taste like chocolate bon bons…

I am a full-time stay at home Mom/Wife of 3 boys. Four if you count my husband. Gavin is 9, Trace is 4, and Easton is 3 months. While most are pros there have to be some cons to the job just like any other one.  I am definitely not complaining because I LOVE staying home with my children! And sometimes my husband too.  There are just some days I shouldn’t be asked to get out of bed. For example I spilt my cereal on the way to the couch the other morning because I had a baby in one hand and I tripped on toys in the middle of the floor. Twice. I am convinced Trace snickers to himself as he strategically lines up his booby traps. The upside to this fiasco is I have learned to laugh at just about anything and everything. If I didn’t laugh I would cry. I would rather laugh.  Another con: On the days I spend ALL day cleaning I somehow expect it to stay that way for more than 30 minutes. Ba ha ha ha! Not so much. Does it make me a bad Mother if I leave these throughout the house:

Don’t you judge me! I’ve only done it once. No one saw it though because a bowl was left on top of it.

There is not one thing I would change about my “job”. I love every minute of it. There are rough days just like every other job. At least with this one I can wear my pajamas. I have a new appreciation for what my Mom did when I was young. I am sure the bon bons will taste better after I get used to no salary, vacation time, sick leave, over time pay, or lunch breaks. Here’s to you Mom….

 

 

 

8 responses to “There is no cure for laziness but having a big family helps…

  1. That is better than a life time of Birthday and Christmas presents. If I had to do it all over again I wouldn’t change a thing. I love you Jen. There is one thing you need to take to heart. It goes by so quick, one day the babies are babies and the next they are grown trying to find their way through this crazy world. You are are on the right path, of bringing Jesus to them. There might be some rocky roads ahead but if you always trust the Lord and go to him in prayer before reacting then everything will turn out fine. Oh Yea! the pajamas were a benefit of the job. LOL

  2. I still have that white hat. I use it now to cover my head when I walk across the street to Moms. Drop you off at the corner, now thats funny I don’t care who you are.

  3. Jen
    Every time I click the box notify me of new post via email it still won’t notify me.
    What am I doing wrong.

Leave a Reply

